Buscar este blog

viernes, 22 de septiembre de 2017


The story happens in a world where the People is controlled by Commitees as a Big Brother, who assign jobs for people and they create rules for the population of every Community.
As well, every birthday ceremony, till children turn into 12, has its own specifics tasks and no one can skip them because they would be released from the Community.
Well, after this introductio, the novel focuses on Jonas and his ceremony of 12, where the Commitee of Elder will assign him his job and future, obviously his family plays an important supporting role as they're explaining some rules and usages.

Before the day of Ceremony, Jonas's starting to have stirrings dreams, but in his Community these are prohibited. So, they all needs to take a pill to avoid them.
Finally, when the Ceremony of Twelve comes, the Chief of Elder skip him as they'd selected Jonas as Receiver of Memories.

When he started his training, became to know the pain, colours, and other things that no one in his community, except the Old Receiver, now the Giver, knew. These experiences of old memories that the Giver was giving Jonas, provide him wisdom, but it accompanied with isolate.

After almost a year of training where Jonas has received a lot of cheerful, happiness memories, and painful ones, too; he discovers his father kills the newborn who have been released by any reason. After that, he asks the Giver if it's happening with all people who are released, and when the Giver gave him a positive answer, they both develop a plan for give back the memories to all the People from the Community. The plan is quite simply: if Jonas will scape from Community, they all receive the memories that Jonas learned in his training, and in this way they will be able to feel pain, happinnes, love, etc.

  • Título: The Giver
  • Nº de páginas: 240 págs.
  • Editorial: HarperCollins
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • ISBN: 9780007578498